Libraries Parks


Counties Transit Improvement Board

The Counties Transit Improvement Board—comprised of Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey and Washington counties—is a leader in developing the Metro Area’s regional transit system in collaboration with the Metropolitan Council and neighboring Scott and Carver counties.

The Counties Transit Improvement Board—through the use of a metro sales tax and a motor vehicle sales excise fee—advances transit projects in the Metro Area that will help commuters, residents and businesses move more quickly and efficiently through the region.

Dakota County contributes between $11–$13 million. That is returned in investments for Cedar Avenue and I-35W BRT operations and facilities.

On June 21, 2016, the Dakota County Board of Commissioners voted to withdraw from Counties Transit Improvement Board, Dakota County will be a member through the existing Joint Powers Agreement until Dec. 31, 2018.

Last updated: 9/23/2016 5:40 AM