Libraries Parks

Property Tax 101

​Dakota County is responsible for property tax administration, which means the county determines property values and classifications, calculates property tax totals, and collects and distributes property taxes for more than 155,000 parcels of land.

The money that is collected in property taxes is distributed for many different taxing districts, including the county, cities and townships, school districts and other special districts (such as the Vermillion River Watershed District).

For more information about property taxes, go to the Minnesota House of Representatives website.

Last updated: 1/21/2014 8:34 AM