Minnesota Statute 84.922 requires that all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) owned by Minnesota residents must be registered unless exempt. A public use ATV registration is valid for three years from the year of issuance.
Service and license centers are open for walk-ins starting July 13.
Precautions for staff and visitors
- Dakota County requires both staff AND visitors to wear a mask at the Dakota County facilities. If you do not have a mask, we will provide you with one.
- Keep a distance of at least 6 feet from others.
- If you have had a fever of 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit or higher, shortness of breath, muscle aches, sore throat, or a new or increased cough in the last seven days OR if you have had close contact with someone who was diagnosed or suspected to have COVID-19 within the last 14 days, do not visit a county facility for an appointment. If you display these symptoms during your appointment, you will be required to leave the facility.
Fees vary, depending on whether the registration is a transfer, renewal, duplicate, etc.
Payment optionsCash, check, money orders, and credit or debit cards (Discover, Visa or MasterCard) are accepted at all locations.
Owner must appear in personThe owner of the ATV must appear in person if transferring ownership or new registration at one of the three locations with a valid ID. The owner must provide:
- Registration number (if issued)
- Serial number
- Engine size in HP or cubic centimeters (cc's)
- Weight of ATV
- Bill of Sale document (if change in ownership)
- Valid driver's license, state identification card or approved ID
When an ATV is first registered, the owner must present evidence of Minnesota sales tax paid or the sales tax will be due at time of registration.
A notice will be mailed to the owner. Please bring the notice when renewing your license. If the renewal notice was lost or not received, the owner must provide the registration number as well as driver's license, state identification card or approved ID.