Under Minnesota Statute 340A.403, anyone who engages in the sale of 3.2-percent malt liquor within Dakota County is required to first obtain a license.
Establishments within city limits
Establishments within city limits must submit applications to the municipal clerk in the city.
Establishments outside city limits
For a 3.2-percent malt liquor license for an establishment outside the city limits, applications must be submitted to Dakota County. Forms can be downloaded and mailed with appropriate fees to:
Dakota County Public Services & Revenue
1590 Highway 55
Hastings, MN 55033
Licenses are needed for on-sale (consumption of alcohol on the premises where it is sold) and off-sale (consumption of alcohol off the premises where it is sold) alcohol sales.
- 3.2% Malt Liquor On-Sale: $230
- 3.2% Malt Liquor Off-Sale: $230
- 3.2% Malt Liquor Temporary On-Sale: $61.50
- Set-up and Consumption License: $235
- Temporary Set-up and Consumption License: $25
Terms of license
The license runs for the period of May 1 through April 30.
The following forms must be completed and mailed to Dakota County:
Certificate of Compliance with Minnesota Worker's Compensation (first-time applicant)
3.2 Malt Beverage License Application
Consumption & Display
Consumption & Display Renewal and/or Optional 2 a.m. Closing License
License Applicant Information Form
For more information, please see County Ordinance 101 – Sale of Intoxicating Liquor.