To become a notary, you must contact the
Minnesota Secretary of State.
Register in county of residence
You must register your commission with your county of residence. You must be a Dakota County resident unless you are a resident of Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota or Wisconsin and list Dakota County for registering your commission.
Failure to register with your resident county could result in a civil penalty fee (usually larger than the county recording fee) imposed by the Minnesota Department of Commerce, who is responsible for enforcing notary misconduct.
Make an appointment
Reserve your appointment
Drop box available
Paper work can be submitted via drop boxes at each location.
Service and license centers are open for walk-ins. However, making an appointment is encouraged.
$20, payable by cash or check only. Make checks payable to: Dakota County.
Register in person
To register in person, go to any of the three locations. Bring the necessary fees, a current driver’s license and the Notary Commission certificate.
Register by mail
You must send:
- Your signed and notarized notary commission certificate. The commission certificate must include two signatures, one exactly as the name shows on the commission certificate and one as you normally would sign.
- A check or money order payable to Dakota County for $20 to record your notary commission.
Send these items to:
Northern Service Center
1 Mendota Road West
West St. Paul, MN 55118
After your commission is recorded, your Notary Commission certificate will be returned to you by mail.