A precious metal license is required when any precious metal dealer engages in the business of buying secondhand items containing precious metals. A precious metal dealer license shall authorize the precious metal dealer to transact business only at the location or locations designated in the license.
A precious metal dealer is defined as any natural person, partnership, or corporation, either as principal or agent engaging in the business of buying secondhand items containing precious metal, including, but not limited to jewelry, watches, eating utensils, candlesticks, and religious and decorative objects.
“Precious metals” are defined as silver, gold and platinum. This includes pawn shops, coin dealers and some jewelry stores. Items containing precious metal means an item made in whole or in part of metal and containing more than one percent by weight of silver, gold or platinum.
Licenses are valid for one year from the date of issuance.
Fees: $67, cash, check or credit card (Visa or Mastercard) accepted. Make check payable to: Dakota County PS&R.
Apply by mail
Both application forms and the necessary fees below must be mailed to:
Dakota County Public Services & Revenue
1590 Highway 55
Hastings, MN 55033
Application of Precious Metal Dealer License
Certificate of Compliance with MN Worker's Compensation
License Applicant Information Form
Required holding period
Every precious metal dealer shall keep in possession at the dealer's business location or other location within the licensing county from the time of the transaction or as close thereto as possible, for a period of no less than 14 days, every secondhand item containing precious metal purchased by the dealer unless the item is purchased or consigned from another dealer licensed under Minnesota Statute 325F.733. The item shall not be altered at the time of sale and shall remain unaltered during the required holding period.
For more information, see Minnesota Statutes 325F.731—325F.739.