Employers play a pivotal role in Minnesota's child support efforts and make a valuable contribution to the lives of Minnesota's children. Through income withholding, employers collect more than 70 percent of all the child support paid. Employers are required to report all newly hired employees, which helps the child support office know when to withhold income.
For more information for employers, go to the Minnesota Department of Human Services website.
If an employee owes child support, the employer will receive an income withholding order or notice telling how much to take out of each check and where to send it:
- All income withholding payments must be sent to the Minnesota Payment Center at:
MN Payment Center
PO Box 64306
St. Paul, MN 55164-0326
- The amount deducted may not exceed the limits set by the Consumer Credit Protection Act and similar state laws.
- The employer must continue to withhold until they receive an official notification to stop.
- The employer may charge an employee up to $1 for each payment withheld.
For more information, read the Employer's Guide to Minnesota Child Support Laws.
Employers have the following responsibilities:
- When the employer receives an Order or Notice to Withhold Income for Child Support for an employee, they must deduct the specified amount from each paycheck within the allowable limits and remit the payment to the Minnesota Child Support Payment Center.
- Upon request from the child support agency, the employer must provide information about an employee such as his or her earnings, current residence, health insurance coverage, and termination of employment.
- The employer must report all newly hired employees to their State Directory of New Hires. They must report the employee's name, address and social security number as well as the employer name and federal employer identification number.
More information is available from the state's Minnesota Child Support Online.