Anyone who engages in any temporary or transient business, either in one locality or in traveling from place to place, within Dakota County to sell goods or services is required to obtain a Transient Merchant License.
The term “transient merchant” does not include a seller or exhibitor in a firearms collector show involving two or more sellers or exhibitors.
The license is valid at one sale location only and not valid for more than one person, unless that person is a member of a co-partnership. The license is only valid in Dakota County.
Fees: $150, payable by cash or check. Make checks payable to: Dakota County. The licenses are valid one year from the date of issuance.
Application for Transient Merchant License
Certificate of Compliance with MN Worker's Compensation
License Applicant Information
Transient Merchant License Bond – see Bond Example
Apply by mail
Complete the above applications forms and include:
- A Surety Bond, conditioned on the terms as stated in Minnesota Statute 329.11, in an amount not less than $1,000 nor more than $3,000 made payable to Dakota County.
- An itemized list of merchandise to be offered for sale, listing a description of each item, serial number of each item, actual cost of each item, and a designation by number corresponding with a number to be affixed to each items by a tag which shall be kept fastened to the item at all times until sold.
- A copy of the seller’s permit as issued under Minnesota Statute 297A.83 or a written statement from the applicant stating that applicant is not offering for sale any item that is taxable under Chapter 291A.
Send the completed application forms, necessary fees and additional required documents to:
Dakota County Public Services & Revenue
1590 Highway 55
Hastings, MN 55033
Any person, either as principal or agent, conducting business as a transient merchant without having first obtained a license is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
For more information, see Minnesota Statutes 329.099-329.17 and Chapter 297A.83.