Libraries Parks

Other Public Entities

Vermillion River Watershed Joint Power Organization

​The Vermillion River Watershed is administered through a Joint Powers Agreement. Dakota and Scott Counties formed a Joint Powers Organization to exercise leadership in the development of policies, programs and projects that protect and preserve water resources in the Vermillion River Watershed.

The Vermillion River Watershed Joint Powers Organization (VRWJPO) is governed by a three-member Joint Powers Board (JPB).  A nine-member citizen advisory Watershed Planning Commission supports the Joint Powers Organization.

Based on tax capacity, Dakota and Scott Counties jointly fund the administration and activities of the VRWJPO.  The counties established special taxing districts within their portions of the Watershed to provide a mechanism for funding VRWJPO costs.

Joint Powers Organization is currently seeking funding applications for projects along the Vermillion River. For more information on the grant process, please visit the Watershed's website.

Last updated: 3/5/2014 4:00 AM