Libraries Parks

Child Care

Billable Holidays

The 10 recognized state and federal holidays are:

  • New Year's Day (Jan. 1)
  • Martin Luther King's Birthday (3rd Monday in January)
  • Presidents’ Day (3rd Monday in February)
  • Memorial Day (last Monday in May)
  • Independence Day (July 4)
  • Labor Day (1st Monday in September)
  • Columbus Day (2nd Monday in October)*
  • Veterans Day (Nov.11)
  • Thanksgiving (4th Thursday in November)
  • Christmas Day (Dec. 25)

*The day after Thanksgiving may be substituted for Christopher Columbus Day.

Christmas Eve, New Year's Eve and Good Friday are some of the days that may be considered cultural or religious holidays and may be substituted for a federal or state recognized holiday.  These days are not the only days that may be substituted for the recognized holidays.

If a holiday falls on a Saturday, the preceding day shall be a holiday. If a holiday falls on a Sunday, the following day shall be a holiday.

Families may switch other cultural or religious holidays for the 10 recognized state and federal holidays if they let their Child Care Assistance Program worker know before or within 10 days after the substitution.

The family must request the substitution of an alternate holiday, let parents know your holidays if they are different than the 10 recognized state and federal holidays, so they may request a substitution.

If the provider's service is not available on the holiday the provider bills for but the family needs care from another provider on that day, only one provider may be paid.

Last updated: 11/12/2012 10:25 AM